20 miles

I know that I run a lot and that I talk about it a lot, and that to most new people I meet my training is just accepted as one of my quirks, but it hasn’t always been like this. The first time I ran more than a 5K Race For Life was 3 years ago, in 2010.

I knew a couple of people who had run a marathon, but I had no real concept of what that meant and I don’t think that anyone who hasn’t seriously considered running a marathon can comprehend it either. Pretty much no one pops out for a jog and, y’know, 20 miles later gets home and has breakfast. You have to really fucking want to do this kind of shit. Something this Spring changed in me and I became one of those people that really wanted to do it too.

Each of these long runs feels stranger and stranger, not because they get harder (which they do – trust me they do) but because with every long run I want that marathon more and more. I’m spitting and sweating, but I’m not done yet. I’ve never felt a fight like it. It’s addictive, painful, emotional, motivating, and a bit ridiculous, all at the same time and I’m loving every minute of it.

20 fucking miles – DONE.

IMG_1788

This was originally posted yesterday via Instagram

7 responses to “20 miles

  1. Well Done! Hannah! Keep going. You can see the finish line now. Not long, you will cross it with greatness.

  2. Pingback: My first marathon: Week 10 | Red Head On The Run·

Leave a Reply

