Fame at the Regents Park 10K race series

I had a wonderful morning yesterday running in the second of the Mornington Chasers’ 10K series in Regents Park. And I made it onto the TV!

Well, sort of…

It’s the internet TV, but still..!

Check me out on www.trackfieldandroad.tv (click the link to ‘Winter Series Regents Pk Race 2’) at approximately 35:22 fully endorsing sausage baguettes and chocolate milk as the post-race snack of champions.

It was a really fabulous race, both objectively and personally. Objectively, it was almost completely flat, a beautifully cool and crisp morning, and (though I may be biased) brilliantly organised. It’s a 3 lap course which can be mentally tough, but thanks to the autumn views and lovely weather I found it all very pleasant.

On a personal note though, what was even better was how I felt during the race. This was the furthest I’ve run since the Cardiff Half, where my confidence took a fairly massive knock. I was genuinely concerned that I wouldn’t hit my generous 55minute target (my PB is 52:30), but I ended up running a very comfortable 54minutes. I can’t wait until next month’s race as I’m hoping to whittle down my time as close to 52minutes as possible by February.

The Regents Park 10K Winter Series is hosted by my running club, the Mornington Chasers. It is open to everyone, both affiliated and non-affiliated runners. For more info please visit: http://www.chaser.me.uk/races.php

Leave a Reply

